Ronan Kelly as new FTTH Council Europe president

The FTTH Council Europe has elected Ronan Kelly as its new president and has also set out the work plan for the coming year.

Kelly is the eighth person to hold the position since the organisation was founded in 2005. He replaces outgoing president Edgar Aker, who occupied this position for the past year and came to the end of his term. In addition to his new position as president of the FTTH Council Europe, Kelly is also chief technology officer, EMEA & APAC regions at Adtran.

"It is a great honour to have been chosen as the new president of the FTTH Council Europe. A lot has happened in the past year during Edgar Aker's presidency" commented Ronan Kelly. "The FTTH market has matured and European decision-makers have shown a more "business-friendly" approach to broadband policies. In continuity with last year's strategy and working plan, we need to ensure that the call for accelerated fibre deployment is heard by all the broadband stakeholders who can make a change in Europe, with a special focus on operators for the year 2016."


Subscribe now for full access to CRU Wire & Cable News


Follow this link to subscribe


CRU Wire & Cable News subscription includes full access to all global news, financial, trade & economic Analysis, and Insight articles into topical issues affecting the industry, plus access to our analysts.


CRU Wire & Cable News is the oldest & only comprehensive source of global wire and cable news that covers metallic wire and cable as well as fibre optic cable.


The FTTH Council Europe has set the following main objectives for 2016-2017:

  • Motivate activists and stakeholders to support FTTH rollout and adoption
  • Educate decision makers to understand the need for FTTH and its socio-  economic benefits
  • Convince operators and project leaders to deploy fibre networks
  • Urge stakeholders to create a fibre-friendly environment The FTTH Council Europe will also focus on consolidating the available studies, material, data and information produced by the organisation.

Following the elections held at the General Assembly, the Board of Directors now consists of the following nine members:

  •  Ronan Kelly, ADTRAN, Ireland - President
  •  Ismail Adibelli, Genexis, The Netherlands - Treasurer
  •  Tobias Ahl, Rala Infratech, Sweden
  •  Magnus Angermund, Hexatronic Group, Sweden
  •  Antoni Bosch, Prysmian, Spain
  •  Michael Johansson, Ericsson, Sweden
  •  Joël Mau, Institut Mines-Télécom, France
  •  Ana Pesovic, Alcatel-Lucent, Belgium
  •  Edgar Van Essen, Reichle & De-Massari, The Netherlands

The Working Committee Chairs are:

  •  José Salgado, Portugal, Chair of the Deployment & Operations Committee
  •  Joeri Van Bogaert, Belgium, Chair of the Financing Committee
  •  Jan Schindler, Netherlands, Chair of the Market Intelligence Committee
  •  Karin Ahl, Sweden, Chair of the Policy & Regulation Experts Group
  •  Hans Kühberger, Austria, Chair of the World of Applications Committee